Published on November 25, 2019

Hospital holds signing day for nursing scholars

By the Spring Hope Enterprise

Signing Day 2019

ROCKY MOUNT — Nash UNC Health Care hosted its third annual Nurse Scholars Signing Day event on Monday, signing seven aspiring nursing students currently enrolled at Nash and Edgecombe community colleges.

Signing Day includes a ceremony where selected nursing students officially sign on with Nash UNC’s Nurse Scholars Program. The program funds the cost of each student’s education, tuition and books, for up to two years, and includes a monthly stipend for high-achieving students pursuing an associate degree in nursing. In return, the nurse scholars commit to working full-time as a registered nurse at Nash UNC Health Care for up to three years.

“We are thrilled to enter our third year of this program, which has allowed us to build stronger relationships with local nursing students, assist in their academic and professional development and integrate them into our culture at Nash UNC Health Care,” said Crystal Hayden, chief operating officer and chief nursing officer.

Student nurses awarded scholarships during their first year of study include Chandler Williams, Tateeyachta Alston, Cameron Smith, Erica Manley and Heather Coley. Student nurses already in their second year of study receiving the scholarship include Tenika Parker and Tiffany Boswell.

In addition to meeting academic requirements at the community colleges, nurse scholars will be engaged in mentoring relationships and social events to help cultivate relationships with the Nash UNC Health Care team.

To qualify for the Nurse Scholars Program, applicants are required to be enrolled in a nursing program at Nash Community College or Edgecombe Community College, have a 3.0 grade point average, provide two letters of recommendation and submit a personal statement about their commitment to nursing.

Katie Davison, vice president of human resources for Nash UNC, explained the naming of the scholarships.

“Each scholarship is named after an honoree nominated by our staff. Nash UNC employees, medical staff and volunteers — past, present, or deceased — may be nominated by fellow employees to have a scholarship established in their name honoring their outstanding service to our patients, organization and community.”

Scholarship honorees recognized in this year’s program were Dr. John S. Derbyshire, Doris Parham, Tommy Brown, Jennifer Parker, Demeka Herndon, Leslie Spencer, Michelle Cosimeno and Danita Perkins.

News Media Contact

Kenyon "K.J." Askew, Jr., Public Relations and Marketing Specialist, at 252-962-8766 or by email.

If calling after hours, please dial the main hospital line at 252-962-8000 and ask to speak with the nursing supervisor on duty and identify yourself as a member of the news media. He or she will be able to assist you.

Follow Nash UNC Health Care