Published on January 07, 2022

Nash UNC Health Care Adds New Members to the Board of Commissioners 

Nash UNC Health Care has appointed three new members to its Board of Commissioners, due to Jeffrey Batts completing his final term and two additional vacancies needing to be filled. New board members David Browder, MD, H. Mike Johnson, OD, and Kevin Jones started their terms after being sworn in at the January 6 board meeting.  In addition, the board annually elects officers with the new term beginning in January of each year. For 2022, the Board Executive Leaders for Nash UNC are Bill Lehnes, chair, John Barker, past chair, Joel Bryant, vice chair, Butch Holland, treasurer and Jean Kitchin, Secretary. 

“Nash UNC Health Care has been incredibly fortunate to have such a strong and dedicated board of commissioners throughout the pandemic and our implementation of a new strategic plan that began in 2019,” said L. Lee Isley, president and CEO of Nash UNC Health Care. “Our board brings diverse perspectives and ideas to guide the strategic direction of the hospital, to ensure we best meet the needs of our community.  We are excited to add Dr. David Browder, Dr. Mike Johnson and Kevin Jones to this dynamic group of community leaders.”

Browder, originally from Weldon, NC, has practiced internal medicine as a partner physician at Boice-Willis Clinic for 25 years. He has served multiple terms on the Boice-Willis executive committee and is a medical director for Community Hospice of Rocky Mount and research medical director for Accellacare of Rocky Mount. 

Johnson, a native of Whitakers, NC, has practiced optometry for 38 years in Rocky Mount. He has held multiple leadership positions within the community, including the Nash County Human Services Board from 1991 to 2001 and 2007 to today, where he has served as Chairman since 2008.

Jones is a native of Rocky Mount, NC, and brings more than 10 years of experience in public policy at the local, state and federal levels. He is a transportation specialist for the U.S. Department of Transportation and manages a local scholarship to provide local students with college scholarships, technology resources and educational programming.